Доброе пожоловать

Привет! It’s been awhile since I’ve posted here, but I wanted to revive it because I’m currently traveling again. This summer, I’m living in Nizhny Novgorod as part of the Critical Language Scholarship program, which is a US State Department initiative to increase the number of speakers of critical languages through intensive summer language institues. Basically the college version of NSLI-Y.

CLS asked us to make goals before we left and one of mine was to write a weekly summary (in Russian!) about what I’ve been doing. The idea was that it would force me to write about and reflect on what can feel like a whirlwind experience… in Russian. My first week here just finished, so with no further ado, welcome to the blog and week 1 (Неделья 1):

image

После много часов в аэропортах, мы приехали в Нижнем Новгороде. Был 3 ч… утром. Солце еще светит, а мы пробовали спать. Следуюший день, рпиключение начилисься. Я встрачала семью, с которой я здесь живу и началась их познакомтесь – очень добрая семья. Я тоже началась познакомтесь город. Нижний рпекрасный город – будет интерсное лето.

image

   Мое любымое место до сих пор их пешая улица, называется Большая Покровская или Повкрвска, который красывая улица где находится много кафей, театров,  и магазинов. Я смотрела пьесу Чехова в театре.

image

Я началась урокы подзчера, но я училась много когда я не в уроке. Я обещала что до конца программа, только говорить по русскии язык. Был сложно, но уже легче чем первый день. Разговор с моей русской семей, языковим партнером, и другими американскими студентами много помогает мне.

Это все сейчас! Пoка!

Translation:
After many hoursin airports, we arrived in Nizhny Novgorod! At 3… in the the morning. The sun was still shining, but we tried to sleep. The next day, the adventure started. I met and starting getting to know the family that I’ll be living with this summer – they’re very nice. I also starting getting to know the city. Nizhny is a wonderful city – it’s going to be a very interesting summer. My favorite place so far is their pedestrian street, called Pokrovska, which is a beautiful street with lots of cafes, theatres, and shops. I went to a Chekov play at the theatre there. I also started class two days ago, but I learn more when I’m not in class. I promised that I would only speak Russian until the end of the program. It’s hard, but already easier than the first day. Talking with my Russian family, language partner, and other American students helps a lot. That’s all for now! Bye!

Leave a Reply

